The real tragedy of the 1970’s gas crisis

When the gas crisis started I was driving a 1967 Couger GT with a big block. Gas was in short supply , gas lines were forming and gas was rumored to be going over a dollar a gallon

When the gas crisis started I was driving a 1967 Couger GT with a big block. Gas was in short supply , gas lines were forming and gas was rumored to be going over a dollar a gallon

Then the real tragedy... I sold the Cougar and bought a Pinto. Yes it was the Patriotic thing to do , save gas. Lucky for me the government lowered the speed limit on the freeway to 55 mph. Anything over 55 in a Pinto feels like it's going to explode

Then the real tragedy… I sold the Cougar and bought a Pinto. Yes it was the Patriotic thing to do , save gas. Lucky for me the government lowered the speed limit on the freeway to 55 mph. Anything over 55 in a Pinto feels like it’s going to explode

A few months later , I had to stop the madness, I sold the Pinto and bought a Mustang, 351 Cleveland, wide tires and a quad 8 track tape. I didn't care anymore, if I only had one gallon of gas left, I wasn't going that much farther in the more miles no smiles per gallon Pinto.  And as Sammy said " I CAN"T DRIVE  55".  PS the world didn't come to an end, but gas did get above a dollar

A few months later , I had to stop the madness, I sold the Pinto and bought a Mustang, 351 Cleveland, wide tires and a quad 8 track tape. I didn’t care anymore, if I only had one gallon of gas left, I wasn’t going that much farther in the more miles no smiles per gallon Pinto. And as Sammy said ” I CAN”T DRIVE 55″. PS the world didn’t come to an end, but gas did get above a dollar

2 Comments

  1. Made my day with this post. Love the pic of the Pinto. My ’79 Bobcat was amazing. I thought it could do anything! Thanks for including Sammy Hagar the Red Rocker. He loves his cars and makes us all want to break the speed limit. Radio up, windows down. Final note: I was getting gas one day, and the guy at the next pump asked me how many miles to the gallon did I get. And I said, “That’s not why I bought it.”

    • I would have thought the Mustang would have caught your eye. I hated my pinto but loved the Mustang. My daughter bought new and still has a 2006 Mustang , pony pack convertible. Thanks for commenting on my posts Rick Hale > Date: Sun, 24 Mar 2013 06:05:03 +0000 > To: rhalegto@hotmail.com >


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

